13.jpg

Taiwan

Beyond the hegemony of concrete and iron, if we dig a little, we can find in Taiwan a great diversity of cultures, which is reflected in the vernacular architectures. Creativity is another strength of Taiwanese people. How do they keep their heritage alive? What alternative ways of building and living are they inventing nowadays using natural materials? What are the backgrounds and motivations of those who build with natural materials in Taiwan?

Taiwan chantiers participatifs.jpg

In Taiwan, natural building often comes with sweat but also joy ! Traditionally, helping each other was one of the cardinal principles for building. We can also find this state of mind nowadays in collaborative volunteering projects and in workshops. 

01.jpg

In this section, you will find an overview of the great diversity of constructions build out of natural materials in various places of Taiwan. There is something for every taste!

Many buildings combine various materials, whether in traditional or contemporary architecture. Let’s explore it!

2.jpg

What about research on natural building materials in Taiwan? Listen to Taiwanese researchers about it!

DSC00708.jpg

Several indigenous people living in the mountains of Taiwan use stone in architecture. A beautiful heritage to discover!

08.jpg
12.jpg

Soil artificialization is one of the main causes of the decline of biodiversity, while the production of concrete and steel consumes a lot of energy and contributes to global warming. Many buildings are no longer inhabited in Taiwan and materials can be reused, so renovation and recycling are important issues!

DSC01353.jpg

More and more Taiwanese are building earthen ovens, which is an opportunity to organize collaborative building activities, to share good time around meals, and to take first steps in natural building!

Lime is traditionally used in Taiwan as a coating on the walls, to protect them from the rain while keeping them breathing!

01 3.jpg

In Taiwan, you can find a wide range of building techniques with earth: a kind of wattle and daub (earth and straw) on a bamboo structure, adobe, cob, earthbags, etc.

DSC01391.jpg
01 2.jpg

In Taiwan, Minnan (originating from Fujian province in China) and Austronesian Indigenous architectures have at least one thing in common: the use of bamboo for walls or framework, and thatch for roofing. Bamboo is also one of the favorite materials of contemporary Taiwanese architects who wish to give an aesthetic dimension to their work.

21.jpg

Helping each other to build or renovate using natural materials is part of permaculture design, practiced and taught in Taiwan by several organizations. Good news: in 2024, Taiwan will host the next International Permaculture Convergence!

Discover the various ways wood is used in Taiwan’s architecture: the wooden houses of the Atayal people, timber in contemporary architecture, wooden constructions from the Japanese rule era, etc.

DSC04667.jpg
01 4.jpg

Taiwan is a land of cultural diversity: Austronesian Indigenous peoples, traditions originating in the Chinese province of Fujian or developed locally, Japanese influence, etc. The common grounds of these vernacular architectures are the use of local materials, mutual assistance and the search for harmony with nature.

What are the different options to get trained in natural building (or renovation) in Taiwan?

02.jpg
DSC02144.jpg

Beyond architecture and the choice of materials, natural building also means to rethink our way of life and our relationship with nature and other beings. In this section, you can discover the paths of many inspiring people!

And tomorrow? Taiwanese architects are also inventing new aesthetics and new techniques in natural building.

01 3.jpg

13.jpg

Taiwan

Derrière l'hégémonie du béton armé et de la tôle ondulée, en creusant un peu, on trouve à Taiwan une grande diversité de cultures, qui se reflète dans les architectures vernaculaires. La créativité est un autre point fort des Taiwanais. Comment font-ils vivre leur patrimoine et quels modes alternatifs de construction et d'habitat inventent-ils de nos jours en matériaux naturels ? Quels sont les parcours et les motivations de celles et ceux qui pratiquent l'éco-construction à Taiwan ?

Taiwan chantiers participatifs.jpg

C'est souvent dans la sueur et la bonne humeur que l'on construit en matériaux naturels à Taiwan ! Traditionnellement, l'entraide était l'un des principes cardinaux pour construire et l'on retrouve aussi cet état d'esprit de nos jours sur les chantiers participatifs et dans les ateliers.

01.jpg

Cette rubrique vous donnera un aperçu de la grande diversité des réalisations en matériaux naturels aux quatre coins de Taiwan ! Il y en a pour tous les goûts ! 

De nombreuses constructions combinent les matériaux naturels, que ce soit en architecture traditionnelle ou en architecture moderne. C'est l'occasion d'en savoir plus !

2.jpg

Qu'en est-il de la recherche sur les matériaux naturels dans la construction à Taiwan ? Ecoutez des interviews de chercheurs taiwanais !

DSC00708.jpg

Plusieurs populations autochtones vivant dans les montagnes de Taiwan utilisent la pierre en architecture. Un patrimoine magnifique à découvrir !

08.jpg
12.jpg

L'artificialisation des sols est l'une des premières causes du déclin de la biodiversité, et la production de béton et d'acier consomme énormément d'énergie et contribue au réchauffement climatique. Alors que de nombreux bâtiments ne sont plus occupés et que des matériaux peuvent être réutilisés, la réhabilitation et le réemploi sont  des enjeux très importants !

DSC01353.jpg

De plus en plus de Taiwanais construisent des fours en terre : c'est souvent l'occasion d'organiser des chantiers participatifs, de partager des moments de convivialité autour de bons petits plats, et de mettre le pied à l'étrier en matière d'éco-construction !

La chaux est utilisée traditionnellement à Taiwan comme enduit sur les murs : cela permet de les protéger de la pluie, tout en leur permettant de respirer !

01 3.jpg

Il existe de nombreuses techniques de construction en terre à Taiwan : mélangée à de de la paille pour en faire du torchis sur un support en bambou, adobe, bauge, sacs de terre, etc.

DSC01391.jpg
01 2.jpg

Un des points communs de l'architecture traditionnelle Minnan (originaire de la province chinoise du Fujian) et des peuples autochtones austronésiens est l'utilisation du bambou pour les murs ou en ossature, et du chaume pour la toiture. Le bambou est aussi utilisé par les architectes taiwanais contemporains qui souhaitent donner une dimension esthétique à leurs réalisations.  

21.jpg

S'entraider pour construire ou réhabiliter en matériaux naturels, cela fait partie du design en permaculture, pratiqué et enseigné à Taiwan par plusieurs organisations. Bonne nouvelle : en 2024, Taiwan accueillera la prochaine Convergence Internationale de Permaculture !

Des maisons en bois des autochtones Atayal à l'architecture contemporaine, en passant par les constructions datant de la colonisation japonaise, découvrez les différentes utilisations du bois dans la construction à Taiwan !

DSC04667.jpg
01 4.jpg

A Taiwan, il existe une grande diversité culturelle : peuples autochtones austronésiens, traditions originaires de la province chinoise du Fujian ou développées localement, influence japonaise, etc. Les points communs de ces architectures vernaculaires sont l'utilisation de matériaux locaux, l'entraide et le souhait d'une coexistence harmonieuse avec la nature.  

Quelles sont les différentes options pour se former à l'architecture et à la construction (ou réhabilitation) en matériaux naturels à Taiwan ? 

02.jpg
DSC02144.jpg

Au-delà des questions architecturales et du choix des matériaux, l'éco-construction c'est aussi repenser son mode de vie, son rapport à la nature et à autrui. Vous trouverez dans cette rubrique des parcours de vie inspirants !

Et demain ? Les architectes taiwanais inventent aussi de nouvelles esthétiques et de nouvelles techniques en matière d'architecture en matériaux naturels. 

01 3.jpg